ArduDash, a Dashboard for my ArduStat

I’ve worked on an updated dashboard to monitor and control the temperature for my house. The dashboard displays the current temperature, humidity and commanded temperature on gauges, and also plots a time history on a line chart.

Previously, I used Xively to plot my data.

I’ve now switched to a MySQL database hosted (for free) on zymic.com. My website (also hosted on zymic.com) talks to the MySQL database using PHP code. The gauges and the chart is embedded in the dashboard using Javascript that calls Google’s Visualization API (aka Google Charts).

Since I’m no web or DB programmer, I relied heavily on the internet for snippets of code which I tailored for my dashboard. Fermentation Riot¬†was the source of the idea to use Google Charts. It took 2 days to get the MySQL, PHP and HTML codes to where I wanted them to be; so anyone who is new this stuff like I was, don’t sweat it. If I can get it done, anyone can.

The working codes are uploaded to Github.

ArduDash

11 Comments

  1. looks nice & I’ve looked at the code on GitHub but are you intending to provide a description on how it all goes together, specifically if possible a step by step description to duplicate your fine work. Obviously there are a lot of us out in the world who would like to learn from your example.

  2. I really like this project. Your code on Github is only for your Xively example. Can you post the updated arduino sketch for working with a remote server like Zymic? And do you have any links to how you learned how to make the mySQL table to receive the data?

  3. I actually just figured out how to create the mySQL table and write data to it with my Arduino. But now I can’t get the Google Charts code on the dashboard page to get the data from my table. I changed all of the code to point to the right variables my db, but I just get black spaces instead of the dials and graphs. Any hints?

  4. Sorry, I meant to say “blank” spaces. I think the google code just isn’t finding the data right. How did you create the code to graph the data? Did you do it from scratch or you a template or a wizard?

  5. Thank you, Rahul. This is awesome. It is nice for someone who isn’t familiar with coding to see the functions broken out. I was able to take the webclient example from Adafruit and break it down like you have and it is helping me learn. Thanks again!

  6. Hey I guess that I have send you an email, I agree with all your participants, out there are many like us trying to duplicate your really amazing work, could you publish a kind of step by step, I would like to start just with one gauge an one chart for a temperature sensor

Leave a Reply

